Rich History: Vintage Black Imagery

I have been so inspired by vintage fashion and imagery, lately. More than I ever thought I would be. Between my recent pattern haul, and my near addiction to vintage fashion blogs, I feel like vintage is all around me. But, like anything that one becomes interest in, you start to notice trends and patterns in what you’re absorbing. I had become increasingly aware of the dearth of black & vintage imagery in my diet. I knew that the material was out there. I had come across this flickr account, the Of Another Fashion movement and some fantastic stuff while browsing Pinterest.

But, shouldn’t there be more? Blacks were around for the entirety of US history. Where were the images that represent that reality? I’ve seen Lena Horne, Dorothy Dandridge and Josephine Baker dressed to the nines in any number of publicity stills. But where are the images of the average, stylish black people over the years? Where are we dressed in the styles we see in vintage pattern images? Well, I’ve been lucky enough to find more sources, lately. I’d to find even more.

In the meantime, here are some of my current favorites!

Beach_Besties

“Beach Besties”, 1947 [The Beach House Album, 1946-49] ©WaheedPhotoArchive, 2011

Portrait of An African American Girl Taken Between 1870 and 1900

Portrait of An African American Girl Taken Between 1870 and 1900 -Library of Congress Prints and Photographs Division Washington, D.C. 20540 USA

Chicago

Group of ladies at the Midwest Horse Show, c.1938, Chicago. This event was the pinnacle of the African American social scene in Chicago.

It makes me SO happy to see people who look like me wearing the styles that I have come to enjoy!! You can visit Pinterest to discover many more.

Leave a Reply

